top of page

I was a devil in disguise!

My school experience was based around me feeling as if I needed too fit in, needed to be liked or wanted. I would do what I needed to ‘get to the top’ did that sometimes mean playing the bad guy? Yes! Did that sometimes mean lying and manipulating? Yes! 


The problem with trying to fit in or feeling as if you need to be popular; is that you loss who you actually are? The last 2 years of my highschool after being called out for my ‘devilish’ behaviour. Was spent reflecting and recreating who I was, who the new me would be. Who I actually am! I spent years creating myself to be who I thought the world pictured as ‘perfect’. That I never found out who the real Charli was. 


I


can now stand proud in saying I am 100% myself everyday of my life, I’m proud of who I am and who I’ve become, I’m proud of my growth. I love who I am and am excited for my future. If you asked me 4 years ago - who is Charli Barker? I would have replied with something starting with a B and rhyming with witch. 


But if you ask me today... who is Charli Barker my response is, she’s me, she’s completely herself, she’s kind, warm, funny, pretty, open, honest, loving, caring. She’s actually pretty amazing! I’m glad to be sharing this journey with her! 


Taking of my mask of ‘popularity & fitting in’ made me realise how incredible the human underneath is. And ever since has brought me endless joy and love. 


So I ask the un masked you... Who are you? Who do you wish to be? and Who will you become?


Love,


bottom of page